Richmond Traffic Defense Attorneys
A traffic ticket may seem like only a minor inconvenience, but it is actually much more than that. The combination of fines and fees can make a traffic ticket very expensive, but what’s worse, every offense puts points on your license. Enough points, and your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked. Additionally, the premium you pay for car insurance will rise considerably with points on your license. Before you pay that ticket, thinking you are putting the matter behind you, call the Bender Law Group for a free consultation about your situation. You may have better options available to you that our experienced criminal law and traffic defense attorneys can explain to you.
Fight Traffic Offenses and Keep Your Driver’s License
We rely on our cars so heavily that being unable to drive due to a license suspension, even for just a few months, can cause a major disruption in our lives. Under Virginia traffic law, demerit points are imposed after every traffic offense. Depending on the violation, a single traffic offense will add three, four or six points to your record. Accumulate 18 points in a twelve-month period or 24 points in 24 months, and your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. What’s more, you won’t get your license back until you complete a driver improvement clinic (at your own expense), and even then you’ll still be placed on probation for six months.
Below are just some of the many moving and nonmoving violations you can be ticketed for in Virginia:
- Reckless Driving
- Aggressive Driving
- Running a Stop Sign or Red Light
- Failure to Signal
- Failure to Yield Right-of-Way
- Following Too Close
- Driving without a License
- Driving under a Suspended License
- Violating the Restrictions on Your License
- Expired License or Registration
- Hit and Run
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Unsafe Passing
- Driving Under the Influence
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Habitual Offender Violation
Virginia Seatbelt Law
The Commonwealth of Virginia has a secondary seatbelt law. This means that the police cannot pull you over solely for suspicion you are not wearing your seatbelt. However, if they pull you over for some other suspected violation and you are not wearing a seatbelt, you can be ticketed. The law is primary, however, in the case of passengers under 18. As the driver, you are responsible to make sure that all passengers under 18 are secured by a safety belt wherever they are in the car, as well as any front seat passenger regardless of age. As the driver, you are the one who will be ticketed if your passengers are not properly restrained. Police are empowered to pull you over if they suspect a person under 18 is riding unrestrained, and they can give you a ticket without any other traffic violation as a cause for the stop.
Our Richmond Traffic Defense Lawyers can Help
At the Bender Law Group, we’ll dedicate our knowledge, skill, experience and resources to defend you against your traffic citation. We’ll conduct a thorough investigation and gather the facts. We’ll take the time to determine whether discrepancies exist among different accounts of what happened, and we’ll represent you in court, cross-examine the police or other witnesses, and present evidence in your favor.
Don’t pay a ticket that you shouldn’t have to pay, and don’t let points accumulate unnecessarily on your license. Call the Bender Law Group in Richmond at 804-648-8000 for a free consultation with a team of dedicated and successful Virginia traffic defense lawyers.